The Joy of Painting

As many of you may or may not know, I fancy myself as something of a miniatures painter. I’ve got a lot of learning to do, but who doesn’t?

For many who frequent our store, painted minis are a nonentity, thanks to a little bit of CCG tunnel vision, but painted minis are pretty big, especially if you’re a minis gamer. But it bleeds over into Roleplaying too, as it’s pretty hard to say no to a fully painted miniature of your character!

Not too long ago, I opened up a Facebook page that is there to highlight my attempts at painting, and offer my services to people in need of minis painted. It’s called Studio V, and I offer up things I’ve painted for sale, and take commissions on stuff YOU may want painted. It’s an effort to extend my range a bit and get as much painting in as possible.

That being said, I also offer painting demos for folks new to the hobby, so if you’re ever interested, watch our schedule! I do them quite often!

If you’ve never painted a miniature before, don’t be afraid to give it a try! It’s not as hard as it looks! Nobody’s going to come out looking like an award winning painter, we’ve all gotta start somewhere, right?

I’ll give you an update when I schedule our next demo, but in the meantime, start practicing! There are so many cheap ways to get into the hobby! You can always pick up a Reaper Bones miniature (Which typically run around $2-$3 each), a paintbrush, and some paints, and you’re good to go! If you want to get into miniatures GAMING, but are afraid of costs, there’s always Malifaux! You can get started only by buying a crew box and a mini-rulebook! (usually somewhere around $60 total.)

You can check out my budding Facebook page/studio if you want to see some of my works, and don’t ever be afraid to ask for a demo or stop in to chat about the hobby!

https://www.facebook.com/StudioVminis

Leave a comment